The Hardingham Series by Douglas Bentham

Douglas Bentham

The Hardingham Series, 1990
(Dream, Heights, Wish, Sonata, Screen, Mirror)

six monumental steel
approx. between 6’ to 8’ each

Norfolk U.K.
13th Street Winery Permanent Collection since 2018

The Hardingham series is comprised of six monumental steel sculptures executed in 1990 at the Hardingham Sculpture Workshop at Norfolk, U.K. These sculptures were Bentham’s direct response to the stimulus provided by fourteen days confronted with British steel, hot days tempered by cooling rains, other sculptors’ provocations and his own competitive spirit. Hardingham Memory was created some time after his return to his prairie studio, and is dedicated to his friend and fellow sculptor, John Foster.

Seventeen years later, in Crossing the Pond, these sculptures were exhibited at APT Gallery in London, UK along with Bentham’s Espalier series.

About The Artist:
Douglas Bentham was born in Rosetown, Saskatchewan, in 1947. He lives and works in a rural setting near Saskatoon, SK. Bentham graduated with a BA Advanced degree in painting from the University of Saskatchewan in 1969. He received an MFA in sculpture from that institution in 1989.